Yogurt Parfait

Layer up!

As always, the recipe is here.

I spent some time outside and found myself with a new inflammation issue – two mosquito bites. Or, to put it dramatically, two quarter-sized irritated patches of skin that like to itch in different intervals. It is interesting to see inflammation at work. I normally don’t get that without an endoscopy or colonoscopy…

So what does this little story have to do with my dessert recipe? Well it comes from a couple of nights of needing a tasty distraction from the itching – and one that’s super easy to put together. The medicine I take for the bites tend to make me sleepy and sometimes disagrees with my stomach. Therefore, consider this another “easy recipe for uneasy days”. Bonus: it can be eaten for breakfast or as your dessert! 😀

And, yes, a yogurt parfait sounds exotic, but it’s made up of three ingredients: yogurt, granola, fruit. (At least, that’s how it’s done in the U.S. An actual “parfait” usually refers to a swanky frozen dessert.) The best part? I get to use fun glasses! I used a white wine glass because it looks fancy, but you can use any type of clear glass. After all, half of the fun of this dessert is seeing the layers! 😀

Yogurt Parfait
Makes: 1 serving
Time: 3 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plain, non-dairy yogurt
  • 1/2 cup fresh fruit of your choice
  • 1/4 cup gluten-free granola
  • Optional: Use 1/4 cup fresh fruit instead, and 4 TBS jam of choice

Directions:
a) Get out a glass that you would like to use for your parfait.

b) Layer your ingredients, starting with the yogurt. Use any combination that you desire. Here is a suggestion:

  • Layer #1: 1/3 cup of yogurt
  • Layer #2: 4 TBS of fresh fruit or of jam
  • Layer #3: 1/4 cup of yogurt
  • Layer #4: Gluten-Free Granola
  • Layer #5: Rest of the yogurt
  • Layer #6: Rest of the fresh fruit or (if using jam) all of the fruit

c) Get a spoon and enjoy!

NOTES:

  • I find that plain yogurt is best when adding in granola and fruit. I find most flavored yogurt to be too sweet for my taste, but that’s just me. Feel free to use vanilla or other flavored yogurt which will complement your fruit.
  • Can’t find gluten-free granola? For a breakfast parfait: Slice some almonds and combine with flax seeds. You should use enough to make 1/4 cup’s worth of a layer. For a dessert parfait: Take some gluten-free crackers and smash them into tiny pieces. If you want to use a food processor, make sure that you don’t crush the cookies too finely.
  • As far as jam goes, try to use one that is labeled as “no sugar added.” I don’t like sugar-free items because my stomach doesn’t like certain artificial sweeteners.
  • The layers can shift and sink as you make it. That’s okay – parfaits don’t have to look perfect! They’ll all mix together in your stomach, anyway. 😀
  • Need parfait-paring ideas? Try using a coconut-based yogurt with mangoes, an almond-based yogurt with assorted berries, or a soy-based yogurt with apples and pears.

Enjoy!

Hilary

PS – I am not a medical professional. By making this recipe you are doing so at your own risk.

About tmidigestion

Living life with my inflammation avatar, "Pesky." Current mantra: I may have TMI, but it does not have me.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment