Vegetable-Pasta Melody

Lunch Time!

Story time! Link to the recipe is here.

I love pasta. Probably a little too much. When I discovered that gluten-free pasta existed I was ecstatic (especially since I haven’t yet mastered making it from scratch)! So one day I was looking at a token yellow tomato growing in my garden and I decided to make a vegetable-melody-inspired pasta dish. I don’t ever want my yellow tomatoes to go to waste – they’re less acidic than regular ones. I also had a ton of vegetables in the refrigerator and was sick of salad. And so an otherwise dull-looking brown rice pasta became a colorful lunch!

Vegetable-Pasta Melody
Serving Size: 2
Time: ~30-45 minutes, depending on how hard it is to chop up the veggies (ah, fibromyalgia!).

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry brown rice macaroni pasta
  • 1 cup green beans
  • 1 yellow tomato
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1/2 of a can of organic artichoke hearts (non-marinated)
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 2-4 slices gluten-free deli turkey*
  • 1/2 an ounce chevre goat cheese**
  • 1/4 tsp tumeric
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • salt, pepper & basil to taste

Directions:

a) Bring a pot of water to boil, and then add pasta and some salt. (For extra flavor, use a half-chicken broth and half-water mixture.) In my experience, gluten-free pasta takes at least 8-10 minutes to cook.

b) Chop up green beans, celery, tomato, bell pepper, spinach and artichoke hearts until they are at least as small as the precooked pasta. (I like my veggies a little chunkier than most, but feel free to mince them.)

c) Cook vegetables and turkey together in the juice from the artichoke can. Add tumeric, salt, and pepper.

d) Once pasta is done, drain well. Add pasta to the vegetable mixture. Add the chevre and cook on low heat. You really just want it heated enough to coat the pasta with cheese.

e) Split the pasta dish two bowls. Top off with as much basil as you like, and then enjoy!

Allergy Alternatives:
*Gluten: ALWAYS check your deli meat to make sure it’s gluten free! Believe me it’s worth a second look.

** Dairy: Use rice milk instead of chevre. Top off with a little bit of vegan mozzarella.

Other alternatives:

  • Vegetarian: Try exchanging the turkey with edamame for a protein punch.
  • I cannot handle onions unless they’re in powder-form. However, if you can eat onions, then I’d suggest adding no more than half of a red onion to the vegetable melody.

I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Hilary

  • Disclaimer reminder: I am not a medical professional.
About tmidigestion

Living life with my inflammation avatar, "Pesky." Current mantra: I may have TMI, but it does not have me.
This entry was posted in Lunch, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

