Fluffy, Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes

Breakfast, anyone?

Recipe time! 😀

I’m about to give some background on my experience cooking with inflammation issues, but if you just want an awesome Fluffy, Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes recipe, click here. It won’t hurt my feelings.

Story time!

One thing that I really resented when all of my inflammation issues started was that I had to cut out a lot of yummy food from my diet. Whether you’ve been unable to digest certain foods in recent weeks or for many years, it is hard. But it will do your body no good to try to beat your digestive system’s needs – it will just make your situation worse.

I think what makes inflammation diets so difficult are three surprising factors:
1) The realization that your allergies/intolerances are ingredients in many grocery items. (I’ll be posting more on this later.)
2) It is very expensive to buy allergy/intolerance-friendly, pre-made food.
3) There are many food items that are baked/fried/cooked with inflammatory “triggers” (like high in fats, oils, caffeine, acidity, etc.).

And that is why I finally learned how to cook! 😀

Before I got TMI, I couldn’t cook anything that wasn’t microwaveable. After my first inflammation ordeal, I knew I would have to cook because my body no longer tolerated certain foods. I started slowly with basic recipes. And I mean basic, like making-scrambled-eggs basic. It wasn’t until I was forced to go on a gluten-free diet, however, that I started to really understand how to cook.

I was shocked and daunted by gluten-free recipes (“it takes that many steps just to recreate AP flour?!”). But the more I practiced using these…odd…ingredients, the better I became at recreating my long-lost food loves. I also learned more about the chemistry behind food and how that affects flavor in your favor (the difference between it reminds me of that dish and it is that dish!)

Part of the mission of this blog is to help other people who are at a loss about what to make for themselves. I will be adding lots of recipes that are delicious and not too complicated. Also, making more than one dish per meal can be a pain, so every recipe that I make has been taste-tested by a control group (aka – my spouse) who does not have TMI nor finds gluten-free products enjoyable. I’m hoping that it will save time for those of you who have a 2+ person household.

Anyway…onto pancakes! Oh how I loooooove pancakes! After using several gluten-free recipes, I really loved the hearty flavor of buckwheat. The problem was, though, that none of them were fluffy. I like flapjacks, but I REALLY missed fluffy pancakes. Many, many batches later, I finally found a way to make my pancakes closer to the fluffy ones made from typical AP flour. It wasn’t hard to make, and my husband loved them! 😀

Fluffy, Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe
makes ~8 pancakes

Disclaimer:
Since I cannot tolerate gluten and lactose, my recipes will always fall into these two categories. However, I understand that there are many intolerances/allergies out there. I will note the allergy/intolerance-triggering ingredients that I am aware of with an asterisk (*) and list some suggestions based on my previous elimination diets. Also, remember to buy your alternative substitutions from a company that does not have cross-contamination issues with allergies/intolerance-triggering foods. Again, please be sure to read the whole recipe and adjust as necessary for your allergy needs.

1/2 cup buckwheat flour
3/4 cup brown or white rice flour
2 tsps gluten-free baking powder*
1 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1 cup lactose-free buttermilk or lactose-free vanilla yogurt**
2 egg whites***
2 TBS cup applesauce
2 TBS cup vegetable oil****

a) Grease your griddle with something you can handle (ex., veggie or grapeseed oil). You will want medium-heat for your pancakes (about 360 degrees). Have a plate handy for your completed pancakes (or use a tortilla warmer).

b) Combine all of your dry ingredients together (items #1-5). In a separate bowl, mix together your all of wet ingredients. Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients and stir until smooth.

c) Using a ladle, pour pancakes onto your griddle. For awesome results, pour batter onto on your griddle and use your ladle to spread the batter outward in a circular motion (it helps to even out the pancake).

d) Flip over the pancake once the uncooked side bubbles and the batter appears more sheen than wet. Give the pancake about a minute and then check to see if it’s golden brown.

e) Repeat (c) & (d) until you have finished the batter. Place completed pancakes on the plate in the microwave or in the tortilla warmer until serving.

DONE! You can top off the pancakes off with maple syrup, or you can follow the recipe following the allergy notes to make a fruit-based syrup. If you don’t need to read the allergy warnings, click here to get to the fruit syrup recipe.

Allergy Alternatives & Notes:
*Corn. I was told to use a baking soda and cream of tartar mixture to replicate baking powder. I used this site to help me.

**Dairy. I make my own lactose-free yogurt now, but before that happened I used to make buttermilk the non-dairy way. Combine one cup of rice or soy milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice, then let it sit for about five minutes. Ta-Da! It’s now buttermilk!

***Egg. For about three months I had to avoid eggs and egg whites. I would use an egg replacement product from the grocery store, or a ¼ cup of silken tofu blended smooth.

****Possible soy allergy. Replace the oil with more applesauce and you’re good to go.

Fruit Syrup
(Inspired by my mother-in-law’s recipe)

1 cup mixed frozen fruit (whatever you can handle)
2 TBS maple syrup or honey

Defrost frozen fruit in the microwave for about a 1½ minutes. Mix your syrup or honey into the warm fruit and mash some of the larger fruit chunks. This helps the fruit juices to thicken up a bit so that it’s easier to pour.



This is how I usually eat them. I don’t have an issue with almonds, so I like to layer some organic, natural almond butter in between the pancakes. And then I top it off with the fruit syrup mixture. Yum! 😀

Enjoy!

Hilary

  • TL;DR: Recipes for Fluffy, Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes & Fruit Syrup. (link these up)
  • Disclaimer reminder: I am not a medical professional. Please use caution when using recipes by reading the entire ingredients list before you proceed. Asterisks in the recipes mark those ingredients that contain allergens that I know are problematic, but are by no means an exact list. So if you are unsure about using the suggested substitutions, then please don’t use them.
  • Other awesome substitution resources:
    Living Without – Substitutions
    Eating Well – Allergy-Free Alternatives
About tmidigestion

Living life with my inflammation avatar, "Pesky." Current mantra: I may have TMI, but it does not have me.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fluffy, Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes

  1. Dee Dee says:

    Can’t wait to try the recipe! Fluffy is good.

Leave a Reply

